Reproductive Organs in Humans

Reproduction in humans require two individuals - a male and a female.

Male Reproductive Organs

  • A pair of testes: Generate Sperms.

  • Two sperm ducts or vasa diferentia: Each arises from the testis and passes up into the body to join together and form the ejaculatory duct.

  • One ejaculatory duct: Common duct for passage of urine and sperms.

  • One Penis: Muscular organ which helps to transfer sperms into female body.

The testes lie outside the body within the scrotal sac. This is to ensure that the temperature at which sperms are being produced is 2°C less than body temperature as required for sperms to stay alive.

Female Reproductive System

The female reproductive system is located in the lower abdomen. The ovary and oviduct are commonly found in all female animals and the uterus in those who do not lay eggs but give birth to young.

  • A pair of ovaries: Produce ova.

  • Two fallopian tubes: The oviducts through which eggs pass from the ovaries into uterus.

  • One uterus: The womb in which the embryo develops.

  • One cervix: The opening of uterus.

  • One vagina: Female opening.