Delhi Sultanate

The rulers who ruled substantial parts of the North India between AD 1200 to AD 1526 were termed as Sultans and the period of their rule as the Delhi Sultanate. These rulers were of Turkish and Afghan origin. They established their rule in India after defeating the Indian ruling dynasties which were mainly Rajputs in northern India.

The main ruler who was overthrown by the invading Turk Muhammad Ghori from Delhi was Prithvi Raj Chauhan. These Sultans ruled for more than 300 years (from around AD 1200 to AD 1526). The last of the Delhi Sultan, Ibrahim Lodi was defeated by the Mughals under the leadership of Babur in AD 1526 who established the Mughal Empire in India.

During this period of around three hundred years five different dynasties ruled Delhi. These were the Mamluks (AD 1206 - AD 1290) (popularly known as slave dynasty), the Khaljis (AD 1290 - AD 1320), the Tughlaqs (AD 1320 - AD 1412), the Sayyids (AD 1412 - AD 1451) and the Lodis (AD 1451 - AD 1526). All these dynasties are collectively referred as the Delhi Sultanate.