Indian Coast Guard (ICG)

The Indian Coast Guard (ICG) protects India's maritime interests and enforces maritime law, with jurisdiction over the territorial waters of India, including its contiguous zone and exclusive economic zone. The Indian Coast Guard was formally established on 18 August 1978 by the Coast Guard Act, 1978 of the Parliament of India as an independent Armed force of India. It operates under the Ministry of Defence.

The Coast Guard works in close cooperation with the Indian Navy, the Department of Fisheries, the Department of Revenue (Customs) and the Central and State police forces. Missions of Indian Coast Guard include:

  1. Safety and protection of artificial islands, offshore terminals and other installations
  2. Protection and assistance to fishermen and mariners at sea
  3. Preservation and protection of marine ecology and environment including pollution control
  4. Assistance to the Department of Customs and other authorities in anti-smuggling operations
  5. Law enforcement in territorial as well as international waters
  6. Scientific data collection and support
  7. National defence during hostilities

Its additional responsibilities cover:

  1. Offshore Security Coordination Committee (OSCC)
  2. National Maritime Search and Rescue Coordinating Authority (NMSARCA)
  3. Lead Intelligence Agency (LIA)
  4. Coastal Area Security

The Indian Coast Guard organisation is headed by the Director-General (DG ICG) who is located at Coast Guard Headquarters (CGHQ), New Delhi. At CGHQ, he is assisted by four Deputy Director-Generals of the rank of Inspector-General, and other senior officers heading various staff divisions. Director-General of Indian Coast Guard is equivalent to Vice Admiral of Indian Navy.