Indian Navy

The Indian Navy's motto is - May the Lord of the Oceans be auspicious unto us. It is bestowed with the task of safeguarding the seas that surround peninsular India.

Role of the Navy

There are four roles which not only includes war fighting at sea but increasingly disaster relief, rescue and humanitarian assistance. The Navy is not only mandated to exercise naval power against the enemy but also to defend Indian territory and maritime trade.

Naval Diplomacy is an important role of Navy where it furthers international cooperation through joint naval exercises, and ship visits to friendly countries. Constabulary relates to the ability of the Navy to maintain law and order at sea by preventing crimes like piracy.

Benign role - Though the Navy is a military unit it performs important non military tasks too. These include:

Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief like shipping people away from troubled areas; transporting essential supplies to places affected by natural calamities like floods, cyclones and earthquakes; Search and Rescue (SAR) of boats and personnel in distress; Hydrographic surveys and mapping of coastal and ocean territory for other countries too.

Structure of Indian Navy

The Indian Navy is divided into three commands. Each Naval Command is headed by a Flag Officer Commanding in chief (FOC-in-C). His rank is Vice Admiral.

Organisation of Indian Navy

The Navy is broadly divided into the following branches:

  • Executive
  • Engineering
  • Logistics
  • Education
  • Medical

The Officers of the Navy are employed in a variety of roles requiring specialised knowledge and training in the various branches namely executive, communication, navigation, logistics, etc.