Patanjali Yoga Sutra

The yoga sutra’s of Maharshi Patanjali, which is also called ‘Raja Yoga’ are short and easy to remember.

Chapter 1: Samädhi-Pädaù

Sutra 1

Now Yoga is explained.

Maharshi Patanjali starts the yoga sutra by telling that now discipline of yoga are being explained and he moves on to next Sutra.

Sutra 2

In this sutra, he says that yoga is to stop the chattering of the mind skillfully through the use of vrittis.

Sutra 5

There are five classes of modification, painful and not painful.

In this sutra Maharshi Patanjali mentions that there are five types of vrittis which are painful and not painful. The five varieties of thought patterns witnessed are:

  1. Knowing correctly (Pramana)
  2. Incorrect knowing (Viparyaya)
  3. Imagination (Vikalpa)
  4. Deep sleep (Nidra)
  5. Memory (Smriti)

Sutra 33

To be friendly with everyone; to be compassionate for those who are in difficulty; to be happy for those who are happy; to be indifferent when you see evil. All these qualities helps you to calm down your mind.

The above mentioned qualities helps you to overcome attachment and hate.

Chapter 2: Sädhana-Pädaù

Sutra 3

Ignorance, I-feeling, liking, disliking and fear of death are the pains.

In this sutra, he has explained the causes for the pain. The causes for pain are Avidta (Ignorance), Asmitha (I-feeling), Raga (Liking), Dvesha (Disliking) and Abhinivesha (Fear).

Sutra 32

Cleanliness, contentment, austerity, self-study and worship of god are the Niyamas.

Sutra 46

Steady and comfortable should be the posture.

Sutra 47

By slight effort and meditating on the unlimited, the posture becomes firm and pleasant.

Sutra 48

Having conquered it with asana, the dualities do not obstruct.

Sutra 410

Controlling the motion of the exhalation and the inhalation follows after doing asana.

Sutra 50

Pranayama’s modifications are either external or internal, or motionless, controlled by place, time, and number, either long or short.

Sutra 53

After this covering has been removed, we are able to on the mind.

Sutra 54

The drawing of the organs by their giving up their own objects and taking the form of the mind-stuff.

Chapter 3: Vibhüti Pädaù

Sutra 1

Dharana is concentration on one single point.

Sutra 2

An unbroken flow of concentration without any deviation is dhyana.

Sutra 3

The state becomes samadhi or complete absorbtion when there is only the object appearing.