Indian Islands

There are two small groups of islands. One of these situated in the Bay of Bengal, off the coast of Myanmar is known as the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The other is known as Lakshadweep and situated in Arabian Sea, off the coast of Kerala.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands

The Andaman Islands consists of (i) North, (ii) Middle, (iii) South and (iv) Little Andaman Islands. Port Blair is the capital city of the entire Union Territory and is located in South Andaman Island. This island group is separated by the Ten Degree Channel. To its south are situated the Nicobar Islands. They include Car Nicobar, Little Nicobar and Great Nicobar Islands from north to south.

Lakshadweep Islands

Lakshadweep Islands are situated in the Arabian Sea, off the coast of Kerala. All these islands are of coral origin. They have been built up by corals, the microscopic polyps. All these islands are very small in size. The largest island among these, the Minicoy, has an area of 4.5 square km only. Kavaratti is the capital city of this island group.