National Parks

The purpose of establishing national parks is to conserve the natural and historic objects and the wild life and to provide for the enjoyment of the same in such manner and by such means as will leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.

India's first national park was established in 1936 as Hailey National Park, now known as Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand. By 1970, India only had five national parks. In 1972, India enacted the Wildlife Protection Act to safeguard the habitats of conservation reliant species.

Both, National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries come under the category of Protected Aeas. The difference between National Parks & Wildlife Sanctuaries is that no human activity is allowed inside National Parks while limited activities are permitted within Wildlife sanctuaries.

National Parks in India

  • Dachigram (J&K)
  • Corbett (Uttrakhand)
  • Dudhwa (U.P.)
  • Kanha (M.P.)
  • Badipur (Karnataka)
  • Periyar (Kerala)
  • Bharatpur (Rajasthan)
  • Deset Park (Rajasthan)
  • Gir (Gujarat)
  • Kaziranga (Assam)
  • Manas (Assam)
  • Nam Dafa (Arunachal Pradesh)
  • Sundarbans (West Bengal)