Solar System

The Solar System is the name given to the collection of heavenly bodies than encircle round the Sun. Solar System consists of a star called the Sun and all the objects (heavenly bodies) that travel around it.

The Solar System includes:

  1. Eight Planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune) along with the satellite (not less than 163 moons accompanying the planets) that travel around most of them.
  2. Planets like objects called Asteroids (hundreds of Asteroids).
  3. Chunks of iron and stone called Meteors.
  4. Bodies of the dust and foreign gases called Comets (thousands of Comets).
  5. Drifting particles called Interplanetary Dust and electrically charged gas called Plasma that together make up the interplanetary medium.

The Solar System is tucked away in a corner of the Milky Way at a distance of about 30,000 to 33,000 light years from the centre of the galaxy.

The Solar System oriented in a primitive solar nebula a rotating disc of gas and dust. It is from this rotating disc that the planets and the rest of the Solar System evolved.