Wheat is subtropical crop grown in the winter season in India. It is grown in rabi season, while paddy is sown in kharif season. Wheat ranks second after Paddy crop.

Wheat requires cool weather with moderate rainfall. It grows well in the northern plains of India during winter season when the mean temperature is between 10° and 15°C. Well drained loamy soil is ideal for wheat cultivation.

Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Haryana are major wheat producing states in India. Other important wheat growing states are Rajasthan, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra.

The wheat production in the country showed maximum increase after Green Revolution introduced in 1966. India is an important producer of wheat in the world. It is followed by China and USA.