Government of India Act, 1858

The Government of India Act of 1858 was passed by the Parliament of England and received royal assent on 2 August, 1858.

Following are the main provisions of the Act:

  • East India Company’s rule came to an end and the Indian administration came under the direct control of the Crown.

  • In England, the Court of Directors and Board of Control were abolished. In their place came the Secretary of State for India and India Council were established. The Secretary of State would be a member of the British cabinet. Sir Charles Wood was made the first Secretary of State for India. India Council consisting of 15 members would assist him.

  • The Governor General of India was also made the Viceroy of India. The first Viceroy of India was Lord Canning.

  • All the previous treaties were accepted and honoured by the Act.