Tughlaq Dynasty

The first ruler Ghazi Malik, rechristened himself as Ghiyasuddin Tughlaq, ruled for 5 years (1320-1324) and launched a town near Delhi named Tughlakabad.

He was killed by his son Juna Khan, who then assumed power in 1325 AD. Juna Khan rechristened himself as Muhammad bin Tughlaq, and ruled for 26 years (1324-1351). During his rule, Delhi Sultanate reached its peak in terms of geographical reach, covering most of Indian subcontinent.

Muhammad bin Tughlaq died in 1351 while trying to chase and punish people in Gujarat rebelling against Delhi Sultanate. He was succeeded by Firoz Shah Tughlaq (1351-1388), who tried to regain the old kingdom.

Firoz Shah Tughlaq's death created anarchy and disintegration of kingdom. The last rulers of this dynasty were two, both calling themselves Sultans from 1394 to 1397 - Mahmud Tughlaq, the grandson of Firoz Shah Tughlaq who ruled from Delhi, and Nusrat Shah, another relative of Firoz Shah Tughlaq who ruled from Firozabad which was few miles from Delhi.