Cycle of Seasons in India

The complete reversal of direction of winds is the most striking feature of the monsoons. These changing monsoon winds result in the change of seasons over the year.

Climatically, the year is divided into following four seasons in India:

  1. The cold weather season - December to February
  2. The hot weather season - March to May in south and upto June in the north
  3. The advancing southwest monsoon season - June to September
  4. The retreating southwest monsoons season - October and November