Union Executive

India is having the parliamentary form of government. The government at the Central level is called Union Government and at the State level it is known as State Government. The Union Government has three organs - the Executive. the Legislature and the Judiciary.

The President, the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers collectively constitute the Union Executive.

The President

Election Procedure

  • Elected by an Electoral College consisting of the elected members of both Houses of Parliament.
  • Single transferable vote of proportional representation.
  • The voting is done by secret ballot.

Tenure and Removal

  • Elected for a term of five years
  • Eligible for re-election
  • She or he may resign before the expiry of her or his term
  • May fall vacant due to her or his death
  • Term of office commences from the date takes the oath of office.
  • Can only be removed through impeachment for violation of the Constitution.

The Vice-President

The Vice-President of India is elected indirectly by an electoral college consisting of members of both Houses of Parliament. The voting is held by secret ballot. The Vice-President cannot be a member of either Houses of Parliament or of a State Legislature.

Prime Minister & The Council of Ministers

The executive powers of the President are exercised by the Council of Ministers.

The President is the constitutional head of State, but the real Head of the government is the Prime Minister.


Prime Minister holds office during the pleasure of the President, he enjoys the confidence of majority in Lok Sabha. Lok Sabha can pass a vote of no-confidence against him and in this case the Prime Minister either submits his resignation to the President or gets dismissed by the President.