Five Great Elements (Panch Maha Bhutas)

Earth, water, fire, air and sky are called the five great elements. The creation has originated from these five great elements. According to Maharishi Charak, these great elements are very small and difficult to identify by the senses.

These are the five great elements:

  1. Sky
  2. Air
  3. Fire
  4. Water
  5. Earth

Sky - The sky has been considered to be eternal.

Wind - The origin of air is assumed to be from the sky. Air is also considered to be eternal.

Fire - The fire is also called tej. The origin of fire is believed to be from air.

Water - water is considered to be everlasting. 

Earth - Earth is believed to originate from water.

The manifestations of Sattva, Rajas, Tamas qualities are described in the five great elements. As per the nature of their qualities, the predominance of sattva quality in the sky, rajo quality in air, sattva and rajo quality in fire, sattva and Tamas qualities in aap (water) and tamas quality in the earth can be seen.

The entire universe is created by these five elements.