Solar System

The sun, moon and stars have a very important role in people's life. In the absence of these, life of humans is not possible. People of the older generation thought about them in different ways.

It was believed that our earth remains fixed and the sun moves. It rises in the morning and sets in the evening. Later it was discovered that the Earth revolves around the Sun on its axis, while the Sun remains still at one place.

Days and nights are formed only when the earth rotates around the sun. Like the earth, the moon also rotates. The moon revolves around the Earth. In this way, nature and human life have been created by the interconnection of the sun, moon, earth and stars. Civilization and culture have evolved and developed from them.

The Sun is a large circle of fire and gases. It shines continuously with its light, that's why it is considered a star. One who shines with its own light is called a star. The one who receives its light from the star is called the planet. Therefore our earth is the planet, because it receives its light from the sun.

The earth rotates from east to west on its tilted axis. Along its axis, it also rotates around the Sun. It also revolves. This revolution of the Earth is completed in 365 days.

There are seven more planets besides Earth - Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, which revolve around the sun. Earlier Pluto was also considered a planet. Now some scholars do not consider Pluto as planet. All these planets get their shine only from the sun.

The bodies that orbit (revolve) around these planets are called satellites. We can call them the Sun's own family. These all together are called the Solar System.

Only one satellite orbits (revolve) the Earth. It is called the moon. When it starts decreasing it is completely hidden, then there is Amavasya (lunar phase) and when it shines completely in the sky, that night is the full moon night. The journey from Amavasya (lunar phase) to Purnima (full moon) takes fifteen nights.

This movement of the Moon is called the phases of the Moon. There are two phases of 15-15 nights - Shukla Paksha and Krishna Paksha. The dates of the Indian calendar are based on these.


1. What are the names of the planets in the solar system?

Earth, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. 

2. What is the difference between stars and planets?

The one who shines with his own light is called a star. The one who receives its light from the stars are called planets.

3. Where does the Earth revolve?

The Sun

4. From whom do satellites receive light?

The Sun